Dr. Daphne D. Bate
Dr. Leah Jeanette C. Bayan
Dr. Leandro Bongosia
Dr. Ma. Lita Linda C. Britanico
Dr. Oscar Cabahug
Dr. Nenita A. Collantes
Dr. Teresita A. De-Castro
Dr. Roselle B. De-Guzman
Dr. Diana Jean D. Del Rio
Dr. Marcelino Durante
Dr. Evangeline Fabian
Dr. Viannely Berwin F. Flores
Dr. Aileen Guzman-Banzon
Dr. Rolando R. Ligon
Dr. Pamela Rose Matti
Dr. Vicente G. Ortiz
Dr. Gedeonino V. Padilla
Dr. Gerard P. Perlas
Dr. Rodolfo C. Rabanal
Dr. Allan B. Ruales
Dr. Ruth Saguil-Sy
Dr. Rodolfo E. Tamse
Dr. Filipina V. Tan
Dr. Rommel P. Tolentino
Dr. Enrico E. Tuy


The very first chairperson of the Department of Medicine way back in 1942 was Dean Ramon Macasaet. Dr. Mario Guerrero, Dr. Elpidio Gamboa and Dr. Virginia Dungo followed him; Dr. Jose S. Estrada was appointed chairperson from 1968 to 1970. He was the only cardiologist in the institution at that time. With him were seven consultants and 3 resident physicians. Dr. Estrada was the 64th fellow of the Philippine College of Physicians and was a Board examiner of the Philippine Specialty Board in Internal Medicine. He is still active in his private practice at present.

Dr. Lutgarda C. Quito succeeded Dr. Estrada whose term of office lasted from 1970 to 1984. She was the first MCU medical graduate (Class 1960) to sit as chair of the department. During the first few years of her office she focused on the strengthening of the faculty staff and instituting curriculum modification/enrichment as mandated by the Department of Education Culture and Sports through APMC.

By the mid seventies, the department recruited and retained a number of qualified faculty members. It was then that administration approved the drastic cut-off of freshmen student enrollees to only one hundred to improve the quality of the graduates.

Fund raising activities were held to support the different projects of the department. The administration, faculty and students supported these activities.

Dr. Virgilio V. Tablante, an MCU graduate of class '62 had a short stint as chair from 1984 to 1985. He continued the projects initiated by Dr. Quito. During his time the number of consultants had grown, increasing to 43.

Dr. Nicolas S. Zubiri was chair from 1985 to 1990. He was one of the top gastroenterologists in the country, and was convinced by Dr. Quito to join MCU. He introduced computer technology to the institution. He was the Reynaldo Landero Professorial Chair holder for Internal Medicine and delivered a lecture on computer know-how. He set-up the video-endoscopy section of the hospital, started publishing the department newsletter, computerized the daily department census, and organized medical missions in the rural areas. His untimely death on September 19, 1991 was a big loss to the department.

Dr. Marcelito Durante was appointed chair from 1990 to 1994. After his fellowship in cardiology in France, he was invited by Dr. Quito to join the department in 1976. He continued the programs started by his predecessors especially the yearly postgraduate courses and the BLS-ACLS Course for the first year Postgraduate trainees. He established the Heart Station complete with a 2-D Echo machine. He invited specialists of the different subspecialties to complement the faculty staff of the department. During his term of office, Dr. Durante also held the following important positions: President of the Philippine Heart Association, Chair of the Philippine Specialty Board of Internal Medicine, and Member of the Board of Regent of the Philippine College of Physicians.

The third MCU medical graduate to hold the 10th chairmanship of the Department was Dr. Nenita Collantes, nephrologists, who assumed the position in 1994. At the same tine she was elected and appointed to other important positions: President of both the MCU Medical Alumni Association and the FDTMF Medical Staff Organization and member of the Philippine Specialty Board of Internal Medicine. Dr. Collantes was instrumental in the establishment of the dialysis unit. During her tenure, the Problem Based Learning was introduced by the college, for which she developed the Block VI curriculum handling the cardiovascular system.

Dr. Rodolfo Rabanal succeeded Dr. Collantes in 2000. He introduced new programs to insure faculty development, residency training and student learning. He strengthened Block VI, the Cardiovascular System to further motivate the student learning. He represented the institution in the Philippine Specialty Board of Internal Medicine who soon became its chairman.

After the stint of Dr. Rabanal, Dr. Quintin Babaran took over the chairmanship in 2003. He introduced the team approach in patient management and effected several changes in the training program including reactivation of the dormant Harrison's club, the Journal Club and activated the Research forum. During his tenure, there have been clamor for a change in the medical curriculum. The Modified Innovative Curriculum was then born. Dr. Babaran developed the MIC curriculum, a modular system of approach to learning Internal Medicine that is now on its maiden year. He strengthened the Post-graduate courses and paved the way to hold the postgraduate courses outside the walls of MCU. With the postgraduate courses held outside of MCU, the net proceeds markedly improved and easily supported the acquisition of a laptop computer and LCD projector solely for use by the department during its conferences. He concurrently holds other position including, member of the Philippine Specialty Board of Internal Medicine and Member of the Board, Philippine Society of Digestive Endoscopy acting as its PRO.